Where have I been?

Those of you who have been following this blog (all… five… of you?) may be wondering where the heck I’ve been. Didn’t I set out to write a post a day in 2011?

Yes, I did. Clearly, I have failed. But. All is not lost!

Here’s what happened. My first day at ThoughtWorks was today, February 14. This date is significant because it also happens to be Valentine’s Day. In case you’re not seeing the connection, a couple of critical facts:

  • Starting at ThoughtWorks required me to travel to Chicago today through Wednesday for new hire orientation.
  • I am married.
  • Let me remind you that today is Valentine’s Day.

So understandably, my wife and I were not exactly thrilled about the timing of all this. However, we did our best to make up for our inevitable distance from each other today by taking a trip up to Napa Valley over the weekend. We had a great time, and I’m very glad we went. I’m also very glad I didn’t blog during the past few days, honestly, for one simple reason: blogging is not exactly the most romantic thing in the world.

To summarize, then: this weekend was about me and my wife. My blog does not fall under the umbrella of “things I do to show my wife how much I love her.” So, no posts this weekend.

Now, how will I make this right? How can I somehow spin this in a way that doesn’t just mean I’ve failed in my goal of a post every day?

Easy! I will simply pay off my blogging debt by writing multiple posts per day (some days) over the coming week or so—however long it takes to make up my deficit. 🙂

And you know what? I won’t even count this post towards that goal! (Excuse/apology posts don’t count.)

So you can probably guess that another post is just on the horizon. Heck, I might as well just tell you what it will be: specifically, I intend to respond to empi’s comment to this recent post about LINQ. Because let’s face it—I don’t get comments every day; so those I do get deserve my serious attention! (I hope you’re still reading, empi!)

2 thoughts on “Where have I been?

  1. David says:

    Hope your trip was safe. Are you being well-oriented in the windy city?

  2. Kathryn says:

    It would be REALLY romantic if you wrote about Ken Todd’s website… or SEO. Just sayin’!

Leave a Reply

