How disappointing…

I know, I know. Where was my post on Saturday, right? Well, this is Saturday night, and I’m going to treat it like it’s my Saturday post, even though it is definitely past midnight (however, I will be cheating the system and manually setting the post time to January 29th, so take that, WordPress!).

The truth is that I’ve been a) busy, and b) kind of drawing a blank. I did update my previous post to cover more of the stuff I had wanted to cover when I started writing it; the downside of that, for those of you who are brave enough to go back and read it, is that it has now become quite long. And possibly boring.

As I said, I don’t really have any great ideas of what to write about right now. One thing I do want to share—and it’s kind of sad, but probably no one will care; so maybe it’s not that sad—is that the data structure I referenced at the very end of my last post, while brilliant, cannot be realized to its true potential in C# (and possibly in Java either, though Java implementations are out there) because array allocations are themselves O(N) in C# due to the rule that every element must be initialized upon instantiation. (Part of the promise of the paper was for a data structure with guaranteed O(1) insertions; well, that might be possible in a language like C++, but not in C#. I measured it.)

I know, really sad, right? It’s OK; don’t cry. It’ll be all right.

This was a weak post. The next one will be sweet, I swear!

2 thoughts on “How disappointing…

  1. Bragaadeesh says:

    You should not repeat this. I have forgiven you 🙂

Leave a Reply

