I’m going to be a ThoughtWorker!

Well, it’s official. I’ve accepted an offer from ThoughtWorks and will be joining the company in mid-February.

I’ve notified my employer, which makes it extra official.

ThoughtWorks is a strong force for agile development in the software industry and is highly regarded both for its forward-thinking philosophy as a company and its top-level talent (or so I’m told).

What does this mean for this blog? Hopefully, nothing bad! It does seem quite likely that my focus will begin to drift further and further from .NET specifically and towards more general software-related topics. (Then again, that’s what I said when I started at CMU, and look at all my “Programming”-tagged posts over the last several months. Nothing about Ruby! It’s all .NET! But I think actually working professionally in lots of new technologies will be a lot more immersive than just studying them academically. So this time I’m more confident in my prediction.)

On an unrelated note, my wife and I saw The King’s Speech last night; I highly recommend it.

4 thoughts on “I’m going to be a ThoughtWorker!

  1. David says:

    Congratulations, Dan. I’ll want to hear more about this now, and especially after you start. I knew you were “top notch talent” regardless of whether you accepted the job or not. Maybe it will even bring you eastward on occasion?

  2. Adam says:

    Holy cow! A ThoughtWorker in our midst!

    Cross it off the list – another rarity I now can proclaim I’ve seen.

    Next up – the loch ness monster.

  3. Bragaadeesh says:

    Hearty Congrats Dan!!

  4. Daniel says:

    Thanks, guys 🙂

Leave a Reply

